Brains On Fire- our chapter 11

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Brains on Fire is a powerful book about creating movements, empowering people to be advocates of the business,moving it from simply a product, to a powerful message. SkyFlix “Chapter 11″ would be about the way we are going to create a movement. One of the most important aspects of a movement in relation to SkyFlix would be about finding, empowering, and learning from frequent flyers. SkyFlix needs to find advocates for our business and who better to advocate it than those people that would use the service the most.
One of the lessons of the book that I have taken away is the importance of what tech author calls ” burning the non disclosure agreement”. Why is this important? In a technology/ software business like SkyFlix, people can become obsessed with the security of their technology. Instead we need to embrace those people who want to use and advocate our business. We need to do three things: find advocates by offering the service to select users at first, empower the advocates to suggest new content for streaming, and provide a premium version that would have a barrier to entry. That barrier of entry could be a membership with one of the select airlines, or a monthly fee.
How can we make advocates feel like rock stars? Most advocates would also be a premier member with an airline. We could offer premium content that other users didn’t have.
Another important aspect is to create a community that is both online and off line. The book talked about the importance of having an off line following. For us that means we need to embrace our users love of traveling to create a community of users.
Our chapter 11 is about finding our advocates, giving them ownership of the movement, and loving what our customers love! Our movement, like every movement, must be based on passion, not product. What is the essence of SkyFlix? It is about keeping people entertained while they travel. People wait a huge amount of time while they travel. Our movement needs to be based on solving this problem.
I love to travel, I love mountains, and I get really excited about seeing the world. But, I’m not a big fan of waiting. I am by excited abo it SkyFlix because I know how useful it would be for me when I travel! I know there are people out there like me and those are the people I want to find.

Leave a comment